Award Information and Winners

Top Poster Awards:

To be considered for a top poster award, please submit a PPT or PDF of your poster (horizontal, 1 page) to by April 1st. The winners will be announced at the conference.

Top Paper Awards:

Submissions are closed, winners will be announced at the luncheon on Saturday.

Charles Atkin Translational Scholar Award Winner 2023:
Mohan Dutta, the Dean’s Chair Professor of Communication and the founding Director of the active Center for Culture-Centered Approach to Research and Evaluation (CARE) at from Massey University in New Zealand has been selected to receive the 2023 Charles Atkin Translational Health Communication Scholar Award. Dr. Dutta has a long history of conducting important community-based health communication research and intervention studies to promote health equity.  See this brief profile about Mohan and his important work:
It is wonderful that Mohan will be the first non-USA based scholar to be honored with this award, illustrating the international reach of health communication scholarship.  I hope you can join us at the 2023 DCHC conference to celebrate this award with Dr. Dutta!

His keynote address during the luncheon will be titled: Culture-centered approach to transforming structures that drive health inequities: Building voice infrastructures at the global margins.