2019 Atkin Award Winner

2019 Charles Atkin Outstanding Translational Health Communication Scholar Award

Dr. Michelle Miller-Day

We are pleased to announce that Dr. Michelle Miller-Day has been selected (among a very competitive group of nominees) to receive the 2019 Charles Atkin Outstanding Translational Health Communication Scholar Award at the upcoming DC Health Communication (DCHC) conference to be held in Fairfax, Virginia at the beautiful Hyatt Regency at Fair Lakes Hotel and Conference Center on April 25-27. The Atkin Award (named after the influential health communication scholar Dr. Charles Atkin from Michigan State University) is given to an eminent health communication scholar who has made major contributions to health communication research, practice, and policy.

Dr. Miller-Day is a Professor of Communication Studies at Chapman University in Orange, California. She is an expert in developing evidence-based health promotion communication campaigns, including co-directing with (Dr. Michael Hecht) a large National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA-NIH) funded project for over 20 years that is one of the most successful evidence-based substance abuse prevention programs in the United States. This impressive health communication program has reached and influenced more than two million youth worldwide!

Past distinguished recipients of the Charles Atkin Outstanding Translational Health Communication Scholar Award include:  Dr. David Gustafson (2011), University of Wisconsin, Dr. Linda Neuhauser (2013), University of California Berkeley, Dr. Bradford Hesse (2015), National Cancer Institute, and Dr. Jay Bernhardt (2017), University of Texas.